GUILDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of a special meeting of Guildford Borough Council held at the Guildhall, High Street, Guildford, Surrey, GU1 3AA on Thursday 1 December 2022

* The Mayor, Councillor Dennis Booth

* The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Masuk Miah

- Councillor Paul Abbey
- * Councillor Tim Anderson Councillor Jon Askew Councillor Christopher Barrass
- * Councillor Joss Bigmore
- * Councillor David Bilbé Councillor Chris Blow
- * Councillor Ruth Brothwell Councillor Colin Cross Councillor Guida Esteves Councillor Graham Eyre
- * Councillor Andrew Gomm Councillor Angela Goodwin Councillor David Goodwin Councillor Angela Gunning
- * Councillor Gillian Harwood Councillor Jan Harwood Councillor Liz Hogger
- * Councillor Tom Hunt
- * Councillor Diana Jones Councillor Steven Lee
- * Councillor Nigel Manning
- * Councillor Ted Mayne

- * Councillor Julia McShane Councillor Ann McShee Councillor Bob McShee
- * Councillor Richard Morris
- * Councillor Marsha Moseley Councillor Ramsey Nagaty Councillor Susan Parker
- * Councillor George Potter Councillor Jo Randall
- * Councillor John Redpath
- * Councillor Maddy Redpath Councillor John Rigg Councillor Tony Rooth Councillor Will Salmon
- * Councillor Deborah Seabrook
- * Councillor Pauline Searle
- * Councillor Paul Spooner Councillor James Steel Councillor Cait Taylor Councillor James Walsh Councillor Fiona White Councillor Keith Witham Councillor Catherine Young

*Present

Honorary Freeman David Watts, Honorary Aldermen Sarah Creedy, Vivienne Johnson, Jayne Marks, Keith Taylor, Jenny Wicks, and David Wright, and the Honorary Remembrancer Matthew Alexander were also in attendance.

CO67 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Paul Abbey, Jon Askew, Chris Blow, Colin Cross, Guida Esteves, Graham Eyre, Angela Goodwin, David Goodwin, Angela Gunning, Liz Hogger, Steven Lee, Ann McShee, Bob McShee, Ramsey Nagaty, Susan Parker, Jo Randall, John Rigg, Tony Rooth, Will Salmon, James Steel, Cait Taylor, James Walsh, Fiona White, Keith Witham, and Catherine Young, and also from Honorary Freeman Jen Powell, and Honorary Aldermen Keith Childs, Catherine Cobley, Terence Patrick, Tony Phillips, and Lynda Strudwick.

CO68 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

CO69 MINUTES

The Council confirmed, as a correct record, the minutes of the ordinary meeting held on 11 October 2022. The Mayor signed the minutes.

CO70 MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

The Mayor thanked all the councillors and Honorary Aldermen who responded to his appeal for volunteer poppy sellers and was pleased to announce that the total raised for the Royal British Legion in central Guildford this year was £15,000.

The Mayor also thanked those who had attended and supported his charity 'Call my Wine Bluff' event on 19 November. The event had been a great success and had raised almost £4,000 for the Mayor's charities.

CO71 TILLINGBOURNE WARD BY-ELECTION: RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT

The Council received and noted the Returning Officer's Report on the outcome of the Tillingbourne Ward By-Election held on 20 October 2022, which was set out in the agenda. The Mayor congratulated Councillor Richard Morris on his election and welcomed him to his first Council meeting.

CO72 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY FREEMAN

Upon the motion of Councillor John Redpath, seconded by Councillor Paul Spooner, the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That, pursuant to the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Freeman be conferred upon Keith Geoffrey Churchouse in recognition of the distinguished and eminent service he has rendered to the Borough of Guildford.

The meeting finished at 7.28 pm	
Signed	Date
Mayor	Date